BUDJERAH Reveals New Single + Video ‘What Should I Do?’


Today, Budjerah reveals his new single and video What Should I Do?, and announces his highly anticipated second EP, ‘Conversations’, available Friday 8 April via Warner Music Australia. To celebrate the release, the 19-year-old wunderkind has announced a world tour.  Starting in Australia this April, Budjerah will perform in Ireland, England, Germany, The Netherlands and France, before he travels to North America for shows in San Diego, Los Angeles and New York in May and June. 

On What Should I Do? Budjerah unites with producer Konstantin Kersting on a track that finds powerful tension in its clash of electro-R&B production and emotive lyricism. Kersting’s trademark synths, render with a warped, almost vaporwave-like patina, glide and glissando beneath. “The lyrics for What Should I Do? came really easily,Budjerah says of the meaning behind the track. “The inspiration came a few weeks earlier – I noticed that my friends weren’t really texting me or calling me; they had sort of pushed me to the side. I was sad because I didn’t have any friends, and didn’t know what to do. But now it’s over: I got some new friends.” Fittingly, the song sparkles with the knowledge of hindsight.

Reunited with Mick Soiza who directed Budjerah’s ARIA nominated video Higher, the moody visual accompaniment for What Should I Do? was captured in the Byron hinterland.  Soiza had this to say of the clip, “Apart from the track being a soulful undercover dance floor banger, I feel this song captures a lot of the social anxiety and disconnection so many people feel but are too afraid or embarrassed to voice. His ability to articulate how he was feeling in a genuinely exposed way and to back himself by not wanting to cave to peer pressure as a young man is well beyond his years.  The aim was to tap into this and create something quite literal to the meaning of the song and dive into how confident Budjerah was in his vulnerability in this song.”



What Should I Do? is one of six tracks on ‘Conversations’, Budjerah’s second EP available Friday 8 April. Reuniting with longtime producers Matt Corby and Chris Collins, as well as new collaborators MAY-A and Konstantin Kersting, the EP – which features previously released singles Talk with MAY-A, and Wash My Sorrows Away – reveals a darker, sleeker sound for Budjerah, reflective of the changes that have occurred in his life. “These songs speak about the last year – about me figuring out what’s important.” Budjerah says.

In 2020, Australia was introduced to the spectacular voice of Budjerah: a new, homegrown R&B star. Possessing songwriting ingenuity and old-soul wisdom, it quickly became abundantly clear that, for a lot of us, Budjerah was the kind of figure we’d been missing. His acclaimed debut self-titled EP followed in 2021, he took home the Michael Gudinski Breakthrough Artist ARIA award from five nominations; performed coveted support slots with Thelma Plum, The Avalanches and Lime Cordiale, collaborated with dance music superstars PNAU and completed his first headline tour.

Now with an forthcoming world tour lined up, a global run as special guest for Vance Joy, and performances at The Great Escape, Splendour in the Grass, Yours and Owls, This That, Jungle Love, Party in the Apocalypse, A More Perfect Union, King Street Carnival and more, Budjerah is ready to charge forward. He will be armed with a new set of songs that show off his range, his fire, and, of course, his gossamer, heart-wrenching voice.

BUDJERAH TOUR DATES

AUSTRALIAN HEADLINE TOUR
Tickets on sale Friday 25 February @ 8:00am AEDT via www.budjerah.com
Presented by Lemon Tree Music + Lonely Lands Agency

Saturday 9 April | Jive Bar, Adelaide SA
Friday 15 April | The Night Cat, Melbourne VIC
Friday 22 April |  The Zoo, Brisbane QLD
Saturday 30 April | Oxford Art Factory, Sydney NSW 

AUSTRALIAN FESTIVAL DATES

Saturday 5 March | This That Festival,  Sandstone Point QLD
Saturday 12 March | This That Festival, Newcastle NSW
Sunday 13 March | King Street Carnival, Camperdown Memorial Park NSW
Saturday 19 March | Live At Warrawee Festival, Oakleigh VIC
Friday 25 March  | Great Southern Nights,  Brunswick Picture House NSW
Saturday 26 March | Party in the Apocalypse, Hobart TAS
Saturday 2 April | Yours and Owls, Wollongong NSW
Sunday 3 April | Awaken Festival, Peninsula Hot Springs VIC
Friday 29 April | Jungle Love, Gootchie QLD
Friday 22 July – Sunday 24 July | Splendour in the Grass, Byron Bay NSW
Saturday 20 August | A More Perfect Union, Sandstone Point QLD

UK + EUROPEAN TOUR DATES
Tickets on sale Friday 25 February @ 8:00am AEDT via www.budjerah.com
Presented by Lemon Tree Music

Sunday 8 May | Workman’s Club, Dublin IE*
Tuesday 10 May | Jazz Café, London UK*
Friday 13 May | The Great Escape, Brighton UK
Monday 16 May | Helios 37, Cologne DE*
Tuesday 17 May | Tivoli Vredenburg, Utrecht NL*
Thursday 19 May | Les Etoiles, Paris FR*
Friday 20 May | Turmzimmer, Hamburg DE*
*Headline shows

US HEADLINE TOUR DATES
Tickets on sale Friday 25 February @ 8:00am AEDT via www.budjerah.com
Presented by Lemon Tree Music

Sunday 29 May | Soda Bar, San Diego CA
Monday 30 May | School Night at Bardot, Los Angeles CA
Monday 6 June | Baby’s All Right, New York NY

PERFORMING AS SPECIAL GUEST FOR VANCE JOY

Sunday 22 May | Koko, London, UK
Friday 27 May | Rogers Arena, Vancouver BC
Thursday 2 June | Ryman Auditorium, Nashville TN
Saturday 4 June | The Rooftop at Pier 17, New York City NY
Thursday 9 June | Budweiser Amphitheatre, Toronto ON
Saturday 17  September | Gardens Amphitheatre, Darwin NT
Saturday 24 September | Munro Martin Parklands, Cairns QLD
Saturday 1 October | Queen Elizabeth Park, Gold Coast QLD
Saturday 8 October | Patrick White Lawns, Canberra ACT
Saturday 15 October | Camp Shortland, Newcastle NSW
Saturday 22 October | Lardner Park, Lardner VIC
Saturday 29  October | Botanic Gardens, Hobart TAS
Saturday 5 November | Glenelg Beach, Adelaide SA
Saturday 12 November | Barnard Park, Busselton WA
Saturday 19 November | Sydney Opera House Forecourt, Sydney NSW
Saturday 26 November | Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne VIC



Follow Budjerah on socials

With thanks to Positive Feedback

Leave a Reply