Sunny Coasters THUMP Announce Debut Album

If you’re a lover of live music on the Sunshine Coast, then the name THUMP should be a familiar one. Regulars on the circuit, comprising of a list of star musicians, THUMP have finally put their collective abilities together and produced their first album, born in the legendary Yama Nui Studios.

The band have released the title track and first single from the new album ‘A Better Way’, out now.
T H U M P are launching the album with a limited edition 300 (180gram Aquamarine blue) Vinyl. Order yours HERE before it’s too late.

The four track release was recorded and mixed at Yama Nui Studios under the award-winning B (George, The Beautiful Girls, Bobby Alu), and produced by bassist OJ. THUMP have brought forward an energetic 12” funk release that can be placed in the same sounds/echelon as modern funk bands such as Vulfpeck, Frequent Flyers, Soulive, as well as paying tribute to the all time greats like Parliament Funkadelic, WAR, Earth, Wind and Fire and more.

For the uninitiated, THUMP comprises of band leader OJ Newcomb (John Butler Trio, Band Of Frequencies), Clint Francis on lead vocals, Oscar Richardson on vocals and guitar, Brodie Graham on guitar, Mark Moroney on guitar, Andrew ‘Mouse’ Szumowski on Keys, Jacob Mann on drums, Dyon Tahana on Alto Sax, plus a slew of guest musicians in the horn section and percussion. 

Brought together from a love for New Orleans funk, and with a name coming from a term coined by the originator of slap ‘thump’ bass (and the father of funk), Larry Graham, THUMP produce feel good, happy music, inspiring the people of the world to let loose and get under a groove. 

Stream ‘A Better Way’ HERE and
Order your Limited Edition Vinyl HERE.

Follow THUMP for more

With thanks to Bueno Bueno Sounds

Leave a Reply