INNOCENT EVE Release Sophomore Album ‘Viking’

Straight off the back of the release of their single Three Quarter Time, which received radio play on stations including Kix CountryAustralian Country Radio and ABC Country straight out of the gates, Innocent Eve unveil their sophomore album ‘Viking.’ The album is an emotive collection of songs that includes their recent hit singles Mixed Bag and the title track. Innocent Eve are described on as being “a true testimony to the power of song as a binding force”.

‘Viking’ is a collection of Innocent Eve sisters Bec and Rachel Olsson’s perspectives on life, love, people and the world, worked into melodies for others to find comfort and company in. All self-penned tracks, Bec and Rachel contribute to the album in equal parts, each bringing to the table their own half-bag of songs and working meticulously together with creative genius and producer Matt Fell at his Love Hz Studio complex in Sydney, to bring about the whole and well-rounded offering that is ‘Viking.’ From heartbreak and hurt to everlasting love, politics and personal demons, ‘Viking’ is as broad in its motif as it is deep in honesty.

Bec says: “Viking is our take on things. Rachel and I wrote this album over the last couple of years and we’ve hit everything from heartbreak and hurt to everlasting love, politics and personal demons. We want to translate to our listeners an honest account of how we’re feeling through each track and really, honesty is the only tool we have in being relatable and real.”

‘Viking’ comes to life six years on from their debut ‘Temporary Balms’, which saw five singles released from it – A Little Bit, Into The Light, Every Woman, Let Me Be, And We Sang – all of which charted high on the KIX Country Hottest 20Country Tracks Top 40 and also on the CMC Top 50. Their 2016 EP release ‘True North’ had two singles released – Belly Glow and Sisters, with both receiving extensive airplay across Australia. ‘Viking’ has produced 3 singles to date – Mixed Bag which debuted at #3 on the AMRAP Regional Airplay charts, title track Viking, which spent 16 weeks in the 2TM Top 20, including a week at #1, and their latest offering Three Quarter Time.

‘Viking’ is a collection of beautifully crafted Country songs with a warm feel that wraps arounds your ears like a loving hug. Producer Matt Fell (Graeme Connors, John Williamson, Brad Butcher, Fanny Lumsden) has created sumptuous arrangements that touch on folk, rock and even Celtic influences. My Despair has a gentle Irish folk lilt that distracts you from the fact it is breaking your heart. Running For My Life is a piece of pure escapism to play loud in the car with the windows down. Comfort of Your Arms has the feel of a warm embrace and The Rant is a stomping anthem to stir up the fire in the belly.

Listeners can experience the passion and the warmth of the emotion that Innocent Eve delicately weave through the music on ‘Viking’ at the Agnes Blues & Roots Festival from the 19th to the 21st of February, with more gigs to be advised later in 2021.


Follow Innocent Eve:

With thanks to Wildheart Publicity

Leave a Reply