alt. Release New Single ‘nothingwithoutyou.’ + Announce ‘dysfunctional’ EP

alt. have offered up two epic singles so far, and recently accompanied their third single, nothingwithoutyou., with their debut EP announcement! The ‘dysfunctional’ EP will be available Friday April 24!

The new single follows on from the previous two with the dark pop-rock elements that make for an addictive listen. nothingwithoutyou. was written with help from Hands Like Houses‘ Trenton Woodley and produced by Callan Orr (Dream On Dreamer) at Avalanche Studios.

Vocalist Dan Richards explains that the track takes its theme from a toxic past relationship: “nothingwithoutyou is about the moment I realised my relationship needed to end. I felt isolated, unwanted and I was stuck in a state of limbo. But when it came down to ending the relationship I was told I meant everything to them, which confused me after being treated the way I was.

Insubordinate marked the launch of the band and the first of seven singles to be released off of ‘dysfunctional’, followed by sophomore single Chasing Safety. Both singles have been welcomed with open arms with solid Unearthed reviews by triple j‘s Mitch AlexanderDave Ruby Howe, and Elsa Silberstein, play on triple j’s Short. Fast. Loud. and Unearthed TOPS, Spotify playlisting on both Homegrown + Heavy and Rock Out., and worldwide media love.

Richards existed as the last original member of previously named rockers After Change, so the four-piece decided to relaunch and start fresh under the new name, alt. The band’s final form consists of Richards on vocals, Daniel Wells-Smith and Simon Aistrope on guitars and Declan Fry on drums. In just a few months since their formation, alt. have already had the pleasure of playing alongside artists to the likes of Young Lions, ColumbusVoid Of Vision and Diamond Construct to name a few and have made quite an impression on their live audiences.

alt. have taken time to demo and experiment with their new sound, reaching out to a number of fellow musicians for a hand in direction and production. The band have credited Trenton Woodley (Hands Like Houses)Luke McKenzie and Jimmy Alexander (Awaken I Am) and Zach Britt (Young Lions/Dream On Dreamer) for their contributions in helping create this massive debut offering.

“nothingwithoutyou.” is out now and available on all digital stores and streaming platforms!

With thanks to Collision Course

Leave a Reply