National Indigenous Music Awards Induct TIDDAS + WILMA READING Into Hall Of Fame


The National Indigenous Music Awards will this weekend honour two iconic names in Indigenous music this weekend, with folk trio Tiddas and soul singer Wilma Reading inducted into the Hall Of Fame at Saturday’s event under the stars at the iconic Darwin Amphitheatre.

Tiddas formed in 1990 by members Lou Bennett, Sally Dastey and Amy Saunders, releasing their first EP ‘Inside My Kitchen’ in 1992, going on to score two ARIA nominations. Their seminal 1993 album ‘Sing about Life’ achieved gold sales status and was followed up by a self-titled album which debuted in the top 30 in 1996 and delivered a third album in 1997, before calling it a day in 2000 as one of the most successful Indigenous acts of the 90s.

Wilma Reading began her career singing for friends in 1959 at the Brisbane Jazz Club before heading to the USA where she released singles, performed on Johnny Carson’s Tonight Show, toured with Duke Ellington and held down a residency in New York’s famed Copacabana nightclub. The first ever Indigenous artist to achieve success overseas, she has performed across the world with orchestras, in movies and on TV across five continents, these days living back at home in Far North Queensland (now 79 years old) after a proud international career. 

Wilma Reading

Wilma Reading will also perform at the awards this Saturday and will join performances on the night from Archie RoachJessica MauboyDan SultanElectric Fields,Tasman Keith, Indigenous choir collective Spinifex Gum, Yorta Yorta soprano Deborah Cheetham, Larrakia nation’s Kenbi Dancers and Indigenous violinist Eric Avery, creating what must be one of the greatest and most diverse gatherings of Indigenous talent ever assembled.

Jessica Mauboy

Tickets are on sale now, available through Darwin Festival at


Artist of the Year
Archie Roach
Baker Boy
Electric Fields
Jessica Mauboy
Mojo Juju

Album of the Year
Archie Roach – The Concert Collection 2012 – 2018
Dan Sultan – Aviary Tales
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue
Tia Gostelow – Thick Skin
Thelma Plum – Better In Blak

Song of the Year
Baker Boy – Black Magic
Electric Fields – 2000 and Whatever
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue
Tasman Keith (ft Stevie Jean) – Prey
Yirrmal – For Everyone

New Talent of the Year
Dallas Woods
Kaiit Kobie
Dee Mambali Band
Tasman Keith

Film Clip of the Year
Briggs – Life Is Incredible
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue
Tasman Keith (ft Stevie Jean) – Prey
Thelma Plum – Better In BlakYirrmal – For Everyone

Community Clip of the Year
Deni Mob – State Of The Heart
Peppi School – Play Good Way
Numbulwar School Band – What’s The Reason?
Tiwi College – Picka Family

Leave a Reply